NEZEL PADAYHAG: “It’s Better To Do Nothing Than Do Things For The Wrong Reasons”

It is but human conditioning to do desirable things to avoid doing things that are not desirable. This is the dilemma for most of us. In so doing, when we have done the things that are desirable by every human soul, we expand our egos and secretly tell others: Look at me, I’ve done it. I’m good.

We then become self-righteous, judging others for their meager progress. This is most especially true for most people who offer service in religious or other similar advocacies.

Glorifying people for their good deeds while not bad in itself, it still coupled with negative effects, especially when the person receiving the glorification is spiritually immature.

It’s better not to do things than do it for the wrong reasons. I desire heaven because that is where I come from. There is no need for me to avoid hell because, heck, I’ve been there!

 

~via Medium.com